Advisory Council

The Minnesota State University, Mankato College of Business Advisory Council exists to provide advice in developing the college's strategic plan, monitoring the implementation of plans, and assisting the college in connecting with the business community to achieve its goals.

Members of the Advisory Council are professional men and women who share the commitment to the University, the College of Business faculty and students, and a willingness to invest their time, energy, and resources for the betterment of the University and College of Business.

Advisory Council Members

  • Jay Adams, '91
    Owner, Cranky Ape
  • Keith Bauer, '86
    Director of Human Resources, Mankato Clinic
  • Mark Bietz, '07
    Chief Marketing Officer, FUN.COM
  • Brad Brolsma, '73
    President (Retired), Merchants Capital Resources, Inc.
  • Curtis Fisher, '72
    Broker/Owner, Coldwell Banker Commercial Fisher Group
    Advisory Council, Executive Committee
  • Jean Fitterer Lance, '83
    Senior Vice President and Chief Compliance Officer, Boston Scientific Corporation
  • Trudie Gustafson, '81
    Vice President, Greater Mankato Growth, Inc
  • Norb Harrington, '75
    Regional President (Retired), Wells Fargo Bank
  • Douglas Holtan, '87
    Systems & Procedures, Mayo Medical Center
  • Lisa Hyland, '88
    Director of Human Resources, Federated Insurance
  • John Kind, '79
    Executive Director, Mankato Family YMCA
  • Don Kreye, '88
    Business Development Manager, Abdo Eick & Meyers
    Advisory Council Chairperson and Executive Committee
  • Greg Lea, '74
    Senior Vice President, CFO and COO, EnteroMedics
  • Suresh Mathews, '75
    Senior Vice President and CIO, Unisys Corporation
  • Jeff Meyerhofer, '98
    Senior Vice President, UnitedHealthcare Dental at UnitedHealth Group
  • Dennis Miller, '89
    President and CEO (Retired), Key city Ventures Member
  • Mike Mitchell, '71
    President, MSM Financial
    Advisory Council, Membership Committee
  • Janet Moldstad
    Vice President of Marketing, The Occasions Group, Taylor Corporation
  • Brad Peters, '87
    President, Bremer Bank
    Advisory Council, Membership and Executive Committees
  • Paul Rasmussen, '92
    President and CEO, Zepol
  • Bron Scherer, '79
    Founder and Partner, Protein Sources
  • Kyle Smith, '01
    Principal, TAILWIND Group
  • Ryan Spaude, '98
    Financial Advisory, Eide Bailly Financial Services, LLC
    Membership Committee
  • Glenn Stolt, '89, Chair
    President and CEO, Christensen Farms
  • Jennifer A. Thompson, '80
    CPA, CGMA Senior Manager, Swanson Hinsch & Co.
    Membership Committee
  • Pamela Ziermann, '85
    Senior Vice President of Compliance, Dougherty Financial Group, LLC

The following is expected from every Council member:


The more the Council members know about the University and College of Business, the more powerful advocates they can be. The members will be provided with ample opportunities to experience what is new and compelling, and are expected to take an active role in becoming an educated advocate.


Every Council member is expected to provide a financial gift to the College of Business on an annual basis to demonstrate their personal commitment to the development and advancement of the College of Business priorities. This can be a personal gift or as a result of the Council member's efforts in providing funds through a third party. Each Council member shall sign a personal commitment statement at the annual meeting.


Council members are expected to attend council meetings, actively participate in designated committees, and are invited to attend University and College of Business events / programs. Minimum attendance is four council meetings over a two year period, and one committee meeting per year.